Chantilosophy Vol 4

Tools that are not only useful in the classroom but are more enriching than anything I could have created by hand… times 10!

It’s amazing that whilst you’re teaching students about the way the world is constantly changing… that it actually is.

I began teaching a unit on Social Media 3 weeks ago. I’ve already adapted my program 4 times. Throughout that time, new (or new to me) web-tools have come to light. Tools that are not only useful in the classroom but are more enriching than anything I could have created by hand… times 10!

My students now have their own e-folios with rss feeds to their personal blogs. Included in their e-folio are boxes that include their goals for the term, learning styles and a wordle image of their personality. Students are beginning to upload “best” work for people to comment on.  

Whilst writing this unit, I began to ponder an idea about how social media has morphed the way we communicate. As I work in a Christian School, I wondered what the implications for Christianity were… and then I wondered how Biblical characters I admire would utilise Social Media. Then I created an amazing task (that students loved) which could show me the depth of their knowledge about Biblical characters without writing a typical information report.

The task is called “What if ___ had a Facebook/Myspace/Twitter account?” Students downloaded an image I had loaded to our Moodle site and using Paint, recreated the page as if it were authored by a Biblical character of their choice.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The results speak for themselves. Students actually wanted to research deeper in order to make their page “cooler”.

Students have now uploaded these to their e-folio.

Love teaching.

Leave a Reply

