ELH Prep

I allocated editing positions to students to allow the greater ownership and motivation.

 On Tuesday, I ran a mock session for NBCS staff of e-zines. The purpose was to motivate students to write through having a wide and varied online audience. The final product is an online flippable magazine (codex format) showcasing student work.

I presented using www.prezi.com online. I’m loving this easy to use format and especially loving that it’s not Powerpoint! We began discussing how students are motivated through publishing online (next time, I’ll have some footage of student comments to share).

I presented to participants the manner in which I organised my class and used Excel to discuss magazine lay-outs. In 6M, I allocated editing positions to students to allow the greater ownership and motivation… some students found this too much responsibility.

It’s important to have a range of different page layouts to work with. I showed staff the following; Googledocs, Word (newsletter), www.openzine.com, and www.glogster.com, as some examples. Students can collaborate using Googledocs when not at school.

Finally, staff set up a www.calameo.com account in order to upload content into the codex format. Everyone was very excited.

You too could have your student work showcased like this… 6M e-zine Come to my ELH presentation on Tuesday for more…

Leave a Reply

