The Resurgence of Flipped Learning Chat

I’ve noticed a revival of the ‘Flipped Learning’ edchat lately. Having trialled Flipped Learning (AKA Pre-learning*) for nearly 12 months, I thought it would be helpful to share what I’ve gleaned through the process. I’ll do this over a series of 3 blogs; the first blog will focus on how to find appropriate resources and then distribute these resources in a helpful, meaningful way.

Before embarking on a flipped learning program, it’s most crucial to decide on your goal for flipped learning.

Is it an adjunct to a current homework program?

Is it to replace/assist in class explicit teaching?

Is it to ensure students are prepared for learning a new topic prior to explicit teaching?

Is it for students to realise the gaps in their knowledge of a certain topic and then bring questions forward to the class?

If you chose either of the last 2 options, then this blog entry will be of assistance to you. If you chose any of the other options, then you may as well look elsewhere.

No doubt you’ve realised that there is a plethora of resources out there that could be potentially used for flipped learning. The question is, how do you choose the best resource for your purpose? The following questions will help you to decide:

  • What is it that I want the students to learn/understand?
  • How will students demonstrate their learning?
  • What internet (vodcast/podcast/website) tools will my students access most frequently/easily?

Sometimes, it’s helpful for our students to provide them with a variety of resources according to access and learning style. I recommend, where possible, that students are provided with a vodcast or podcast and a website link. Many of my colleagues have successfully achieved this in a ‘shiny’ way using http://www.glogster.edu.com. One of my colleagues has done this successfully for spelling –

 

 

 

 

 

Early on in the journey, I realised that I needed a visual gizmo to organise and collate the assortment of resources I was finding. I found www.pearltrees.com the most effective. I began by linking sites that have a massive assortment of resources, such as; www.bbc.co.uk and History Channel. Then I realised that I was going to need to sort further ie. for specific spelling rules. Pearl Trees has allowed me to do that.

Image

Ultimately, if you have the time, inclination and resources; your students will benefit most if you create the flipped learning vodcast or podcast yourself. Although there are a variety of vodcasts and podcasts out there, many are horrifically boring.

However, we teachers are always time-challenged. Here are some solid resources that I draw from frequently:

 

YOU TUBE LARGE REPOSITORIES WEBSITES
Mr ThorpeJamesESLKhan Academy The Learning Federation (via Scootle)www.bbc.co.uk Brainpop (US, UK and Jnr)Mathletics

 

Our students access the pre-learning activities from 2 portals. They access the resources through the NBCS Portal (Moodle) via the subject link.

 

Image

Image

Students then show me that they have viewed the pre-learning information through www.edmodo.com. I set them an assignment of what to watch and then what to do. I comment on their musings.

Image

The next entry is about what students should DO with the flipped learning resources before class.

* Yes, I have realised the redundancy of pre-learning… it’s still learning. It’s what we called flipped learning during the trial phase and it just kind of stuck.

Leave a Reply

