Which Personalities Are More Open To Change?

Working in an organisation that embraces innovation and change, I have begun to notice those people who thrive on change and those who panic with change.

I believe that there are a plethora of reasons behind these responses, but I have been wondering what part one’s personality plays in an individual’s response to change, if any.

There are a range of personality theories and types. In today’s blog, I’m going to be focusing on the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator personalities. If you aren’t sure what your MBTI is, you can do an online test here. Having already completed this test, I’ve discovered that I’m an ENTJ type. In short, I’m extroverted (over introverted), I’m intuitive (over sensing), I’m a thinker (rather than a feeler) and I make judgments (before perceiving). I’m known as ‘The Executive’. I’m not sure how I feel about that, but, anyway.

I think that I deal with change well… I actually enjoy change. Let’s see what the experts think…

According to the personalitypage.com “[ENTJs] are assertive, innovative, long-range thinkers with an excellent ability to translate theories and possibilities into solid plans of action.” Does that mean I deal with change well? According to 16personalities.com, I thrive on challenges, too.

Interestingly, systemsthinker.com says that the INTJ personality is the most open to change and “Because of their frustration with inefficiency, and their ability to clearly visualize a more optimal state and the strategic steps necessary to achieve it, the INTJ may, when functioning within an ineffective system, be extremely eager for change. This eagerness may lead them to expect or demand immediate change. When others around them are open to that change, this attitude can expedite improvements. However, the INTJ often fails to recognize when circumstances call for a more incremental approach to change.”

Interesting… What about you? How do you deal with change?

2 thoughts on “Which Personalities Are More Open To Change?

Leave a Reply

