Radical Relationship

[rad-i-kuh l]
adjective
1. of or going to the root or origin; fundamental
2. thoroughgoing or extreme, especially as regards change from accepted or traditional forms
3. favouring drastic political, economic, or social reforms
4. forming a basis or foundation.
5. existing inherently in a thing or person

Radical Relationship is a huge focus for Northern Beaches Christian School in 2015. As a Christian community, relationship is integral not only to what we do, but who we are (not that we’re better at it than anyone else). What I love about the word ‘radical’ preceding the word ‘relationship’ is that it makes relationship core and organic to the person AND it also assumes that the reformation of relationships is a conscious choice.

I’ve made several goals around developing the Radical Relationships in my sphere of influence. Each day, I ask myself a question –

“What would make the biggest positive difference for __________ in this moment?”

I’ve been finding that, for the most part, people want to be a) heard and b) understood. When I’ve facilitated opportunities for that to happen, I notice a sense of peace come upon people.

My immediate boss is a master of relationships. His heart for others challenges me every day and he constantly talks about (and demonstrates) loving others. This week, he has encouraged us to phone the parents of any new students in our classes.

Today, I took an hour out of my day to call a few wonderful women whose beloved children are in my class. I stood on the end of the phone and asked them recall their child’s responses to starting school in a new place. I didn’t rush. Rather, I paused and listened and asked “Would you please tell me more about that?” At the end of each call, every person was unbelievably grateful.

I’d like to think that, today, I was a little closer to being a relationship radical. Having said that, there’s still a long way to go.

How do you do radical relationship?

Leave a Reply

